Praemium Imperiale Award 2014

Thursday, 17 de July de 2014
Praemium Imperiale Award 2014

The Japan Art Association (JAA) has recently named the winners of the Praemium Imperiale Award 2014 in all categories: music, theater / cinema, painting, sculpture and, with respect to this news, architecture.

The award, annually, has since 1989 recognizing "outstanding contributions in the development, dissemination and advancement of the arts" in various fields. With regard to the architectural category, large icons of architecture as James Stirling, Alvaro Siza, Jean Nouvel, Richard Rogers, Tadao Ando, ​​Zaha Hadid, Toyo Ito and Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron, have received the prestigious award.

Sliced ​​Porosity Block by Steven Holl (Chengdu, China)

For this edition of 2014, the jury decided to award the Praemium Imperiale Architecture Steven Holl because "Holl jobs are internationally considered primarily as a result of his philosophy regarding the unification of experience << >> Space , as illustrated through color and light, with the history and culture of each construction site. "

Linked Hybrid by Steven Holl (Beijing, China)

Nanjing Sifang Art Museum by Steven Holl (Nanjing, China)

The American architect said to be doubly grateful for the award "because architecture is part of painting, sculpture and music, and this award recognizes the JAA all arts. Second, because my first chance as an architect and publishing my first invitations came from Japan, and my first substantial construction was in Fukuoka (Japan) in 1989, so I am very grateful to return to Japan for this important award. "

The ceremony awards ceremony will be held on October 15.

Cité de l'Océan et du Surf by Steven Holl (Biarritz, France)

More information: