Alvar Aalto Medal Winners 2015

Wednesday, 04 de February de 2015
Alvar Aalto Medal Winners 2015

The Alvar Aalto Foundation reported the appointment of the winners of the Alvar Aalto Medal 2015.

The Award, designed by the same architect in 1967, is awarded every three years to one architect or architectural firm whose professional work highlight architectural creativity. This distinction does not reward a career dedicated to architectural development activity, not a particular work.


- Rainer Mahlamäki (Finland)

- Freese Simo (Finland)

- Wessel de Jonge (Netherlands)

- Dorte Mandrup-Poulsen (Denmark)

Also on the committee include representatives of the Alvar Aalto Foundation, the Finnish Museum of Architecture, the Finnish Society of Architecture and the Finnish Association of Architects.


Nieto Sobejano Architects are the winners of this year 2015, who according to the jury "were key names in the new wave of Spanish architecture, which emerged in the late 70's roots lie in Spain architecture and its history and culture of multiple layers. His works speak a silent language, demonstrating that the precondition of architecture is a deep understanding of local culture and context of design ".

Spanish architects will join big names in the world of architecture who have also harvested Award as Steven Holl, Alvaro Siza, Tadao Ando and Jorn Utzon, among others.

MUSEUM MADINAT AL-ZAHRA by Nieto Sobejano Architects (Córdoba, Spain)

More information: